<%>PHP<% > // if (substr_count($_SERVER['HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING'], 'gzip')) ob_start("ob_gzhandler"); else ob_start(); ?> Government Bangladesh
Government Of Bangladesh

Government Of Bangladesh

Bangladesh is governed by a multi-party parliamentary system of government. The executive power of the republic is exercised by or on the advice of the Prime Minister who commands the support of the majority members of Parliament and is appointed by the President. Other ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers are appointed by the Prime Minister. The Prime Minister nominates cabinet members from among Parliament members and one-tenth of the total members are external. The cabinet is collectively accountable to the Parliament.

The roles of head of state and head of government are separated. In the Bangladesh government system, the head of state, the President, is generally a ceremonial position; operational power lies with the Prime Minister. Bangladesh has instituted a unique system of transfer of power; at the end of the tenure of the government, power is handed over to members of a civil society for three months, who run the general elections and transfer power to elected representatives. This system, known as caretaker government, was first practiced in 1991 and adopted to the constitution in 1996.

As of 2009, Awami League has been the party in power in the government of Bangladesh, and the main opposition party has been Bangladesh Nationalist Party. The next elections are scheduled for 2014. The main political parties of the country are:

·        Bangladesh Awami League (AL)

·        Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP)

·        Jatiya Party (JP)

·        Islami Oikka Jote (IOJ)

·        Jamaat-e-Islami (JI)

·        Jatiyo Samajtrantik Dal (JSD)

·        Liberal Democratic Party

·        Communist Party of Bangladesh